• Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $0.99 USD


  • Buy Physical CD


It is now familiar
This little game I play
I’m split down the middle
Because of anything you say

A lake of fire
Or a sea of sin
I’m diving in

I pick up the pieces
Like I knew I should
Put them all together
Never felt so good

Inch by inch I place them
Back where they belong
All those fragile pieces
Will be lost before too long

What is real or not real
What is just a fact
I inch my way across the line
And do my balance act

I survey the damage
Decide what I will keep
It’s a large collection
That carries me to sleep

A lake of fire
Or a sea of sin
I’m diving in

Break what has been broken
Fix but never heal
It’s time to face the angels
With all that I conceal
Sew it all together
By myself again
Miles and miles of thread to go
Before I reach the end

A lake of fire
Or a sea of sin
I’m diving in


from Never In A Million Years, released November 13, 2008
Music by Neil Smith, Dave Eberhardt and Will Crewdson
Lyrics by Laura Smith
Neil Smith - Electronics
Laura Smith - Vocals
Dave Eberhardt - Guitars
Will Crewdson - Guitars




The Sleep Cincinnati, Ohio

The Sleep is an alternative electronic band based in the American Midwest and consists of Laura Smith on vocals, Dave Eberhardt on guitars, and Neil Smith on keyboards and electronics. The Sleep's first release, "Never in a Million Years," is an 11 song album of dark and haunting music. It is being released through WORKSMITH, an analog and digital media project developed by Neil and Laura. ... more

contact / help

Contact The Sleep

Streaming and
Download help

If you like The Sleep, you may also like: